Illustration ( Rizal)
Illustration ( Rizal)

ASEAN Launches Digital Archive of Southeast Asia's Cultural Heritage

English diplomacy (en) southeast asia (en)
Wahyu Dwi Anggoro • 27 Februari 2020 17:59
Jakarta: The first digital archive of the valuable historical cultural heritage of ASEAN Member States (AMS) has been launched.
The ASEAN Cultural Heritage Digital Archive (ACHDA) website showcases over 160 digitised heritage items from Indonesia, Malaysia and Thailand. The website allows visitors to have an in-depth look into the collections of museums, galleries, and libraries through three-dimensional (3D) models, images, audio recordings and valuable videos of cultural heritage of the three countries participating in the project’s first phase.
“The ACHDA project is an important step in ASEAN’s pursuit towards enhancing the public’s understanding and appreciation of the rich and diverse cultural heritage of the region," Deputy-Secretary General of the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community Kung Phoak stated in a press release issued on Thursday, February 27, 2020.

Bagaimana tanggapan anda mengenai artikel ini?

“I hope ASEAN citizens using the website will better appreciate the shared cultural heritage and instill in them a greater regional sense of belonging as we work towards fostering ASEAN identity. Today’s launching of the ACHDA website is timely as we celebrate the 2020 Year of ASEAN Identity”, the ASEAN official added.
The La Galigo script, an epic written in the 14th century, is one of the digitised documents from Indonesia. The script was inscribed in the UNESCO Memory of the World registry in 2011.
The website also gives a glimpse of a Mak Yong performance from Malaysia, a traditional dramatic dance cum ritual also performed in some parts of the ASEAN region. Meanwhile, Thailand presents a collection of gilded manuscript cabinets in 3D, which viewers can look at the intricately crafted stories involving mythical creatures in greater detail.
The project is supported by the Government of Japan through the Japan-ASEAN Integration Fund (JAIF). The first phase of the project began in 2018 and the second phase, scheduled to start in mid-2020, will digitise collections from Cambodia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, and Viet Nam.

Ikuti media sosial dan dapatkan berbagai keuntungan

Dapatkan berita terbaru dari kami Ikuti langkah ini untuk mendapatkan notifikasi

unblock notif