Foreign Affairs Minister Retno Marsudi (Photo:MoFA)
Foreign Affairs Minister Retno Marsudi (Photo:MoFA)

Indonesia Blasts US Recognition of Golan Heights as Israeli Territory

English diplomacy (en) middle east (en)
Wahyu Dwi Anggoro • 26 Maret 2019 13:56
Jakarta: Indonesia has condemned a decision by United States President Donald Trump to recognise the occupied Golan Heights as Israeli territory.
"Indonesia strongly rejects the recognition of the Golan Heights as part of Israel," the Foreign Affairs Ministry said in a written statement on Tuesday, March 26, 2019.
"Indonesia still recognizes the Golan Heights as inseparable part of the sovereignty of the Republic of Syria which is currently occupied by Israel after the 1967 war," the Foreign Affairs Ministry noted.

Bagaimana tanggapan anda mengenai artikel ini?

Indonesia's position is mainly based on the principles in the UN Charter concerning respect for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of each country. The position is also based on Security Council resolutions related to the Golan Heights such as Resolution 242 (1967), 338 (1973) and 497 ( 1981).
The Security Council Resolution 497 officially declared that Israel's annexation of the Golan Heights is illegal. The resolution also called on Israel to rescind its action.
"This recognition is not in line with efforts to create peace and regional stability," the Foreign Affairs Ministry remarked.
Indonesia urged the international community to respect international law and the UN charter. The country also urged all stakeholders to support the peace process in the Middle East region.
Indonesia won the 2018 United Nations Security Council (UNSC) election with 144 votes out of 193 members. The country previously served as a UNSC non-permanent member in 1973-1974, 1995-1996, and 2007-2008.
As a member of UNSC, Indonesia is committed to maintain international peace and security. Among the 15 members of the UN Security Council for the period 2019-2020, the country is one of the largest contributors to the UN Security Mission.
The other UNSC members are the United States, the United Kingdom, France, Russia, China, Kuwait, South Africa, Ivory Coast, Equatorial Guinea, Germany, Belgium, Poland, Peru and the Dominican Republic.


Ikuti media sosial dan dapatkan berbagai keuntungan

Dapatkan berita terbaru dari kami Ikuti langkah ini untuk mendapatkan notifikasi

unblock notif