Home Affairs Minister Tito Karnavian (Photo:Medcom.id/Cindy)
Home Affairs Minister Tito Karnavian (Photo:Medcom.id/Cindy)

Papua Exempted from Moratorium on Regional Expansion

English political issues (en)
Desi Angriani • 31 Oktober 2019 17:28
Jakarta: Home Affairs Minister Tito Karnavian has ensured that the moratorium on formation of new regions is still in effect in other regions except in Papua.
“There are many regions which demand regional expansion. The moratorium is needed to manage our limited budget," Tito said here on Wednesday, October 30, 2019.
Tito revealed that Papua is exempted from the moratorium due to various reasons. He explained that regional expansion in Papua can help boost security in the region and accelerate development in the eastern part of Indonesia.

Bagaimana tanggapan anda mengenai artikel ini?

“They need to accelerate the development there and also to preserve security.” e said.
As of now, the government has only greenlighted the establishment of two new provinces in Papua. According to reports, these two new provinces are South Papua and Central Papua.
The South Papua Province will consist of regencies of Merauke, Asmat, Mappi, Boven Digoel and the city of Merauke. Meanwhile, Central Papua will consist of regions of Meepago and La Pago. (Translator: Muhammad Gestinev)


Ikuti media sosial medcom.id dan dapatkan berbagai keuntungan

Dapatkan berita terbaru dari kami Ikuti langkah ini untuk mendapatkan notifikasi

unblock notif